CoUsT
What is cheating?
What is cheating?

[REQUEST] Enshrouded

Post by CoUsT »

Game Name: Enshrouded
Game Engine: custom proprietary voxel-engine
Game Version: build version 445732
Options Required: Remaining time lock/reset OR save decoding/encoding (so you can edit remaining time value) OR replace hardcoded "8 hours" demo time value to something like 99999 hours directly in binary (not sure if possible? probably)
Steam Website:
Other Info:

The demo is limited by 8 hours of playtime PER world.

I tried to do many things but I'm not an expert. Here are my findings:

- 8 hours time limit is PER world, so you can keep your character and create new world.
- The game encodes world file and character file. The files start with "KSC1" (indicating Keen Save-something encoding? Keen is the name of the developer).
- The game has a dev that previously worked in anti-cheat industry. The game crashes either instantly or after few seconds when you do "Find out what accesses this variable" in CE
- You can attach x64dbg to the game with ScyllaHide. Checking threads reveals that there is one thread called "SaveData" and breakpoint at the thread entry fires when you go back to menu. Letting the breakpoint run creates save files for world and character at "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\userdata\<numbers>\<numbers>\remote" but repeatedly going into world and back to main menu doesn't seem to always catch the breakpoint... The SaveData thread is also responsible for analytics (enshrouded-analytics.keengames.com) afaik.
- Game stats are mostly 4-byte values, for example Stamina is 4-byte that caps at 100 (150 near the fire around starting location when you have rested buff). If you are going to approach the game, the first and easiest thing would be to search 4-byte value 100 then sprint until stamina depletes and scan for decreased value then let it regen to full then scan 100 again.